How are the different types of cars classified?

While it is true that the choice of a vehicle will depend on your needs, finding the right one may be more accessible according to its categorization. The automotive sector has different ways of cataloging the types of cars offered in the market. In this article, you will know what they are.

How types of car are classified

The body is one of the essential parts of the car. All the mechanical elements that make up the vehicle rest on it. In addition, its design is related to the comfort and safety of the occupants. The life of the passengers in the event of an accident may depend on their ability to deform and resist. With the first test conducted by French inventor Nicolas-Joseph Cugnot on a wagon powered by a steam engine more than two centuries ago, the evolution of bodywork has continued to rise. In addition to the classic convertible sedans or trucks, you can currently find endless models on the market.

Classification of cars by segment

To differentiate them according to their size, body type, and other technical specifications, the automotive industry has classified cars by segment. Do you know which ones they are? Learn how vehicle types are organized and how you can distinguish them based on their bodywork and other characteristics.

Segment A

In this segment are grouped cars whose length does not exceed 3.70 meters to carry up to four passengers. In general, they usually have three or four-cylinder engines that generally do not exceed 1.6 liters.

Segment B

They are vehicles up to 4.20 meters long and engines of between 1,000 and 2,000 cylinders. They usually have three or five doors and up to five seats for passengers. Among the types of cars, according to the body, are sedans and hatchbacks. The latter has an integrated boot.

Segment C

In this segment are cars with up to five doors that reach 4.50 meters and can have five seats. Some can be sedans, SUVs (light SUVs), or off-road vehicles, with engines between 1.4 and 2.0. However, there are some sports within this classification with an engine of up to 3.2 liters.

Segment D

The models that make up this category almost reach 5 meters in length and are more spacious for the occupants, who can be five. They have a trunk for large loads and engines of up to 6 cylinders. These vehicles are generally superior in technology and safety.

Segment E

In this segment, you can find the famous “executive” cars with bodies like the sedan. Its size can reach 5 meters. They are elegant, with a comfortable interior. For this reason, in general, vehicles of high-end brands are found in this segment.

Segment F

Of greater size, optimal technology, and better equipment, you can find some sedans within this segment. Even the most powerful can have an engine of up to 8 cylinders. Also in this classification are the representative sedans or flagships of each manufacturer. Additionally, you can find pick-up cars with cargo cabins to move objects according to the body type. Or family vehicles like minivans, with ample space for luggage, ideal for group trips out of town. Now that you know how the types of vehicles are classified, you can choose the model that best suits your needs and your family members. Remember that comfort and safety are essential; take them into account before making any decision.

Leave a Comment